Foods Containing Gluten

The following pre-made foods contain gluten, unless they are marked "Gluten-Free" on the label.

  • Foods
  • Bagels
  • Beer
  • Biscuits
  • Blue cheese (made with bread)
  • Bread
  • Broth (pre-made, cubes, powder)
  • Cake
  • Cheese (pre-shredded)
  • Cookies
  • Corn Dogs
  • Corn Bread
  • Couscous
  • Crackers
  • Croutons
  • Cupcakes
  • Deli Cut or Cold Cut Meats (unless sliced on a dedicated gluten-free meat slicer)
  • Doughnuts
  • French Toast
  • French Fries (if frozen or coated)
  • Funnel Cake
  • Graham Crackers
  • Gravy
  • Hushpuppies
  • Macaroni
  • Malted milk (malt is made from barley)
  • Matzo
  • Muesli
  • Muffins
  • Noodles
  • Oatmeal
  • Pancakes
  • Pasta
  • Pastry
  • Pie
  • Pita or Pocket Bread
  • Pretzel
  • Salad Dressing
  • Semolina
  • Soup
  • Sour Cream
  • Soy Sauce, Shoyu
  • Spaghetti
  • Stock (pre-made, cubes, powder)
  • Stuffing
  • Toast
  • Tabbouleh
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • Waffles
  • Yogurt

These Ingredients Contain Gluten

These ingredients contain gluten, unless marked "Gluten-Free" on the label.  Always read the ingredients on the label and check with the manufacturer to determine whether or not they are safe.

  • Alcoholic spirits (Specific Spirits)
  • Amp-isostearoyl hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Barley, Barley grass (may contain seeds)
  • Barley hordeum vulgare
  • Barley malt
  • Beer (except gluten-free beer)
  • Bleached flour
  • Bran
  • Bread flour
  • Brewer's yeast
  • Brown flour
  • Bulgur
  • Cake flour (meal)
  • Cereal
  • Binding
  • Couscous
  • Dextrimaltose
  • Disodium wheatgermamido peg-2 sulfosuccinate
  • Durum flour
  • Edible starch
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer
  • Farina
  • Filler
  • Flour (usually means wheat flour)
  • Fu (dried wheat gluten)
  • Gliadin
  • Gluten
  • Graham flour
  • Granary flour
  • Groats (barley, wheat, oat)
  • Hard wheat
  • Hydrolyzed wheat gluten
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein pg-propyl silanetriol
  • Hydrolyzed wheat starch
  • Hydroxypropyltrimonium hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Kamut
  • Macha wheat
  • Malt (made from barley)
  • Malt (extract, flavoring, syrup, vinegar
  • Malted milk
  • Matzo meal, semolina
  • Mir
  • Oat bran, oatmeal, oats, rolled oats, groats, flour
  • Oriental wheat
  • Pasta (excepts gluten-free)
  • Pearl barley
  • Persian wheat
  • Polish wheat
  • Poulard wheat
  • Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
  • Rye
  • Seitan 
  • Semolina Spelt, small
  • Sprouted wheat or barley
  • Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Strong flour
  • Suet (in packets)
  • Textured Vegetable Protein - TVP
  • Triticale (a wheat-rye blend)
  • Triticale X triticosecale
  • Triticum vulgare flour lipids, germ extract, germ oil
  • Udon (wheat noodles)
  • Unbleached flour
  • Vavilovi wheat
  • Vegetable starch
  • Wheat (Abyssinian hard, club, common, durum, timopheevi, bulgur, Shot)
  • Wheat bran extract, amino acids
  • Wheat berries
  • Wheat durum triticum
  • Wheat germ, germ extract, germ oil, or lipids
  • Wheat grass (may contain seeds)
  • Wheat nuts, protein or starch
  • Whole wheat, flour
  • Wild einkorn, emmer

These Ingredients and Foods May Contain Gluten

These ingredients may or may not contain gluten. Always read the ingredients on the label and check with the manufacturer to determine whether or not they are safe.

  • Anti-Caking Ingredients
  • Artificial Color
  • Artificial Flavoring
  • Binders
  • Bouillon, cubes or powder
  • Broth
  • Caramel
  • Color, coloring
  • Catsup
  • Cereal
  • Cheese (starting molds may be introduced on bread crumbs)
  • Curry powder (spices sometimes contain undisclosed flour to improve flow)
  • Demiglace
  • Dextrins
  • Emulsifiers
  • Excipients
  • Farina
  • Fillers
  • Flavor, Flavoring
  • Food Starch
  • Glucose Syrup
  • Gluten
  • Gum Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP)
  • Ketchup
  • Leavening Maltodextrin
  • Maltose
  • Miso
  • Modified Food Starch
  • Mono and Diglycerides
  • Monosodium Glutimate (MSG) (imported MSG may contain wheat)
 
  • Mustard (wheat flour may be a hidden ingredient)
  • Mustard Powder
  • Natural Flavor, Natural Flavoring
  • Rice Syrup (may use barley enzymes)
  • Seasoning
  • Shortening (possible added vitamin E from wheat germ)
  • Shoyu (soy sauce)
  • Smoke Flavoring
  • Soba Noodles
  • Sour cream
  • Soy Sauce
  • Spices (may contain flour to improve flow)
  • Stabilizers
  • Starch
  • Stock, pre-made Stock cubes or powder
  • Textured vegetable protein (TVP, same as HVP)
  • Tomato paste (hidden ingredients may include HVP)
  • Vanilla or other flavored extracts
  • Vegetable gum
  • Vegetable shortening (possible added vitamin E from wheat germ)
  • Vitamins
  • Wheat Starch
  • White pepper (may contain flour to improve flow)
  • Yeast or yeast extract (may be grown or dried on wheat flour)
 

Legal Disclaimer
© 2006 Food Allergy Gourmet, All rights reserved

- The Celiac Zone
- Learn About
  Celiac Disease
Foods Containing Gluten
- Eating Gluten Free
- Diet and Nutrition
- Online & Local
  Support Resource
- Help Kids Protect
  Themselves
- Celiac Disease &
  School
- Safe Shopping &
  Kosher Symbols
- News & Research
- Ask the Doctor

- Blogs